Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is a deliberative, administrative, and executive body responsible directly to Senate but otherwise autonomous. Its membership consists of the Chancellor, the President and Vice-Chancellor, the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), the Associate Vice-President and Dean of Graduate Studies (Chair), the Associate Deans of Graduate Studies, the Faculty Deans, the University Librarian, the University Registrar, the Secretary of Senate, the Vice-President (Research and International Affairs), the Associate Registrar and Graduate Secretary, eighteen faculty members (three from each faculty), and twelve graduate students (two from each faculty).

The responsibilities of the Graduate Council have been specified in some detail by Senate and are outlined in the By-laws of the Senate of McMaster University and the Senate Resolutions (Article X). The more significant ones may be summarized by noting that it regulates matters concerning graduate work of common concern to the entire University, acts upon recommendations concerning graduate work from each Faculty upon matters of particular concern to that Faculty, reports to Senate on graduate matters, recommends candidates for graduate degrees, stipulates conditions for the awarding of graduate scholarships, and stipulates the departments eligible to offer graduate work.

For more information about the governing bodies of McMaster Univeristy, please visit the Senate webpage »

All meetings will be held in Council Chambers (GH 111)

September 20th 9:30am
October 18th 9:30am
November 15th 9:30am
December 6th 9:30am
January 17th 9:30am
February 21st 1:30 pm
March 21st 1:30 pm
April 18th 9:30am
May 16th 1:30 pm
June 13th 9:30am


Chair:  Dr. Doug Welch (deangrad), Acting AVP & Dean of Graduate Studies


Deputy Chairs:

Dr. Naresh Agarwal (agarwal), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research (Business)
Dr. Catherine Hayward (adeanhsc), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies (Health Sciences)
Dr. Pamela Swett (adeangrh), Acting Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research (Humanities)
Dr. Tony Porter (tporter), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research (Social Sciences)
Dr. Michael Thompson (adeangse), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies (Engineering)
Dr. Bhagwati Gupta (adeangss), Acting Associate Dean of Graduate Studies (Science)


Secretary (without vote):  Stephanie Baschiera (baschie)
Assistant Secretary (without vote):  Christina Bryce (cbryce)


Ex-officio Members (without vote):

Helen Ayre, University Secretary
Melissa Pool, University Registrar
Vivian Lewis, University Librarian
Peter Self, Assistant Dean (Graduate Student Life & Research Training)

Ex-officio Members:

Dr. Patrick Deane, President & Vice-Chancellor
Ms. Suzanne Labarge, Chancellor
Dr. David Wilkinson, Provost & VP (Academic)
Dr. Rob Baker, VP (Research)
Dr. Peter Mascher, VP (International Affairs)
Dr. Leonard Waverman (deanbus), Dean of Business
Dr. Bruce Milliken (deansci), Acting Dean of Science
Dr. Ken Cruikshank (deanhum), Acting Dean of Humanities
Dr. Paul O'Byrne (deanfhs), Dean & Vice President (Health Sciences)
Dr. Ishwar Puri (deaneng), Dean of Engineering
Dr. Jerry Hurley (deansoc), Dean of Social Sciences
Dr. Stan Porter, Principal (Divinity College)


Divinity College Representative:

      Dr. Phil Zylla, Academic Dean



Elected Faculty Members:


Dr. Susan McCracken (2017)
Dr. Jiaping Qiu (2018)
Dr. Manish Verma (2018


Dr. Thomas Adams, Chemical Engineering (2018)
Dr. Antoine Deza, Computing & Software (2017)
Dr. Adrian Kitai, Engineering Physics (2019)

Health Sciences:     

Dr. Alba Guarne, Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences (2017)
Dr. Bradley Doble, Biochemistry and Biomedial Sciences (2019)
Dr. Lehana Thabane, Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics (2019)


Dr. Amber Dean, English & Cultural Studies (2017)
Dr. Elizbieta Grodek (2018)
Dr. Susie O’Brien (2019)


Dr. Grant McClelland, Biology (2017)
Dr. Dmitry Pelinovsky, Psychology, Math and Stats (2018)
Dr. Alison Sills, Physics and Astronomy (2019)                  

Social Sciences:   

Dr. Inder Marwah, Political Science (2019)
Dr. Ann Fudge Schormans, Social Work (2017)
Dr. Ellen Badone, Anthropology/Religious Studies (2018)

Student Representatives

Health Sciences: Nick Quinn, Valerie Bertram
Social Science:                                                                        


Observer (without vote):  President, Graduate Students Association


Quorum:  One third of the voting members including one-third of the elected faculty members